Celebrating Well For Kids With Allergies

IMG_9071rs

Birthday season is coming up in my children’s social circle. For me, this means thinking more about egg and dairy, as my eldest child is allergic to egg and cow’s milk protein. During this time we find ourselves in many different social situations, at homes, at the park, and at café/restaurants celebrating birthdays.

I’m the sort of person that does not like to go on and on about my son’s allergies, instead, I’d rather go about managing the best we can and focus on more exciting things. I never expect the host of parties to go out of their way to exclude all allergenic foods or even specifically cater to meet my son’s needs. We usually find suitable food wherever we go. I also take suitable food with us which includes a cake or muffin just in case.

Most of our friends, through their own accord, go to the trouble of providing suitable food and cake options as they’ve known us for a while now. There was a time when a few friends witnessed an allergic reaction at a café we were at….Let’s just say it was unpleasant to witness and ended with a large vomit on the floor and very apologetic waitresses trying to make up for their miscommunication. So maybe this is part of the reason why these great friend’s of ours try and look after my son.

I’m thinking my attitude will need to change slightly, and not be so relaxed, as my son gets older and attends parties without me. I have every faith that my son will do fine with choosing suitable food, as he has a great understanding of his dietary requirements. However, there are some foods that can be made suitable which may become sources of confusion.

When the day comes (probably next year with starting school) when I will not attend parties with my son, I will RSVP with a note about the dietary requirements in writing and/or verbally just so the host is aware. I will most likely continue to provide a suitable cake if the host does not. I would hate for my son to miss out on cake as this is a significant part of birthdays. I really hope my son grows out of his allergies as per the expectation!!!!!!

***

How do you maximise the celebrations with your child who has allergies? What do you do with your child so they can be safe at parties without you? Please share your comments below.

Download your free copy of ‘How to Stay Focused to Never Diet Again’ and improve you and your family’s relationship with food and your body.

Related

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Well For Kids With Allergies

  1. I am lucky that I have family and friends who would rather I bake for everyone. I have fallen in love with baking and love trying new, allergy-free recipes or making my own twist on regular ones. My in-laws have several different food allergies and intolerances, and get-togethers became such a hassle. I have found several alternatives to the top 10 allergens and just cook with them all the time now.

    My biggest concern as I look to the future are things like sleepovers which are not policed by the federal, state, and local regulations like schools. I want my little guy to be social, but I don’t know how to (kindly) interject the needs we have for his safety without making others go out of their way or feel inconvenienced. Do you have any thoughts on how you would handle those types of situations?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for your comment. I’m sorry you are experiencing a similar situation. It’s a great thing you enjoy cooking! I get your concern about sleepovers – I haven’t been thinking this far into the future! I recommend developing a really good relationship with your son’s friend’s parents which will help you to get your message across in a natural way. This has what has helped us. My friends (parent’s of my son’s friend’s) usually come to me asking the appropriate questions, which saves me a lot of hassle and worry!

    At a party we went to a couple of weeks ago, our lovely friend had suitable snacks plus alternatives to the same food the other kids were having! It blew me away!! So for sure develop those friendships.

    I also encourage you to keep educating your son about what is and is not suitable for him to have, how certain foods aren’t always clear how they are made and what he can do to make sure the food is safe. To help with this learning, role play works for us along with having conversations.

    In the mean time, keep being available to provide suitable food/cake as showing what you have to do speaks louder than words. Keep up the great work of caring for your son and relatives. It’s not an easy job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

