I can’t believe it’s not chocolate! Allergen free chocolate

2

Easter is a tough time of year for those who have allergies to dairy products. From my experience living in Far North Queensland, it is very difficult to source dairy free chocolate. I did see online a couple of brands, however, I had left the endeavor a little late for the chocolate to arrive in time for the Easter bunny’s visit.

I thought I struck gold literally and figuratively a few days before Easter. Literally, because I found out our local health food store was awaiting a delivery of dairy free chocolate at $14 for 100g! The online prices were the same.  The next day, the local health food store contacted me to say that delivery of chocolate would not arrive in time for Easter, as the chocolate had melted in transit.

This is where the desperation kicked in to try and have something appropriate for my son in time for Easter. As you can tell these sorts of occasions are important to me, mainly to keep the magic alive for the kids…

So I found myself playing around in the kitchen trying to make dairy free chocolate for my son. I was surprised that I created a half decent dairy free chocolate that both boys and I actually enjoyed! The texture was more like a mouse consistency. I experimented with including the Copha and leaving it out. The Copha did make the chocolate harder, however, I was not able to emulsify it evenly. Instead I was left with bits of hard white Copha that floated to the top of the mixture.

So here is the recipe. Hope you enjoy it too!

Ingredients

  • ¼ Cup of Cocoa powder
  • ¼ Cup of dairy free margarine (If you are allergic to soy just make sure the dairy free margarine does not contain soy or add another oil*)
  • 3 Dessert spoons of honey
  • ½ Teaspoons of vanilla essence

Method

  1. In a small bowl, melt the margarine in the microwave for about 20 seconds.

IMG_46792. Add the rest of the ingredients into the bowl and combine thoroughly.

IMG_43233. Add the mixture to ice cube trays and place in the freezer until set/frozen.IMG_4329

4. Enjoy the chocolate!

*I also tried replacing the dairy free margarine with canola and peanut oils. As this ‘chocolate’ is so decadent it was hard to detect the different flavours of the oils. My preference was using the margarine.

***

Have you made chocolate before? If so, what’s your favourite recipe?

Do you have a favourite brand of chocolate that you can buy in Australia or have delivered?

Be sure to join us in our community the Nutrition Empowered Mums Facebook Group for support around improving your nutrition and being a great role model for your kids.

Leave a Reply

