Do You Need To Hit Rock Bottom Before Quitting Dieting For Good?

5

My opinion is yes, unless you have awareness.

Awareness to listen to nutrition professionals (Accredited Practising Dietitians, Accredited Nutritionists) and other non-diet health professionals.
Awareness to understand your past history of dieting, food and weight issues.
Awareness of what you are currently doing and how it is impacting your life.
Awareness of what is possible for you in the future when you no longer diet.
Awareness of the responsibility you need to take to own your decisions.
Awareness to know that you need to learn more about non-dieting nutrition and lifestyle.
Awareness that people and society as a whole will try and bring you down, mostly unconsciously.
Awareness of your current behaviours, how they affect you and the people around you, particularly your children, and fuel the dieting cycle to continue.

***

If you have dieted before, did you hit rock bottom before you non-dieted? If not, what helped you to change?

Be sure to join us in our community Nutrition Empowered Aussie Mums for support you so you don’t have to hit rock bottom.

2 thoughts on “Do You Need To Hit Rock Bottom Before Quitting Dieting For Good?

  1. I guess I got close to rock bottom because I started seeking out the science and research on weight loss out of sheer frustration with all the diets I had tried and failed. I kept finding the same information over and over. It doesn’t work for 90 to 95% of people who will gain the weight back within five years. Then I extrapolated that into my own history and saw the weight cycling pattern play out exactly like that. I didn’t want to be in a state of semi-starvation for the rest of my life just to maintain but I could see no other options for thinness. So I worked on acceptance and health as my focus, not getting smaller.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your story. What a logical one. I love how looked on your situation objectively and realised your past focus of striving for thinness did not work. Great work on changing your focus and accepting health at every size.

      Like

Leave a Reply

